Reach and probe size

Bosch builds the GIC5-27C around an 11.5-foot camera cable and an 8.3 mm camera head. That combination is the central automotive value proposition: reach into long or awkward passages while keeping the display and controls outside the access point. The 5-inch high-resolution display is intended for an easy-to-see view, and Bosch adds an orientation indicator so the user can tell which end is up. The page does not publish articulation, bend-radius or field-of-view figures, so access remains dependent on the actual route.

Documentation is part of the tool

The GIC5-27C captures both photos and video and stores up to 30 files according to Bosch’s feature list. The US package includes a 32 GB Micro SD card and a USB-A to USB-C cable for transferring files to a computer. That makes the camera useful for documenting a hidden condition before disassembly or sharing evidence with a customer, rather than relying only on an in-person screen view. The page does not describe a companion app or wireless transfer, so the documented workflow is local storage and wired export.

Controls and ergonomics

Bosch describes a simplified keypad and menu, clearly marked buttons for adjusting the camera view and lighting, an orientation indicator and an ergonomic handle. Those choices target longer inspection sessions, where keeping the display readable and the control scheme simple matters more than adding a large set of functions. The product page does not specify screen resolution in pixels, LED intensity, focus distance or recording format. The supported conclusion is therefore ease-of-use and capture capability as described, not a claim about image quality under every fluid, dark or reflective condition.

Protection has two different ratings

The page’s further information states IP67 for the camera cable and IP54 for the tool, with the battery and battery compartment excluded from the latter protection. Bosch’s technical-data block also presents an IP rating, but the explanatory product text is the more useful distinction for ownership. Keep the battery area out of the exposure assumptions, and do not interpret the cable rating as a rating for the entire handheld unit. A rubber housing adds protection, but the page does not state chemical compatibility or an immersion procedure beyond the listed ratings.

Package and platform fit

The listed US package includes the GIC5-27C camera, 11.5-foot cable, BAT414 12V Max 2.0 Ah battery, GAL12V-20 charger, USB cable, 32 GB card, hook, mirror, magnet and carrying case. Bosch also identifies compatibility with BAT414, GBA12V30 and GBA12V60 batteries and several chargers. That makes this specific package more than a bare tool, while still tying it to Bosch’s 12V Max system. The page does not state runtime, so battery endurance should not be inferred from the 2.0 Ah capacity.

Customer feedback and purchase confidence

Bosch’s page shows an overall 3.0 rating from 2 reviews: one five-star and one one-star review. One reviewer wrote, “It’s super easy to use. The camera quality is fantastic,” while another reported receiving a four-foot cable instead of the stated 11.5-foot cable. Bosch’s displayed response says it could send the missing cable if the unit had not been returned. This is exact-model feedback, but the sample is tiny and one review was incentivized; verify the cable length and package contents at receipt.